Hyrule Warriors: Age of Calamity Symphonic Suite | Orchestral Cover

Age of Calamity Symphonic Suite

from Hyrule Warriors: Age of Calamity

Composer: Kumi Tanioka, Reo Uratani, Ryotaro Yagi, Haruki Yamada Arrangement: Andrés Soto

The “Hyrule Warriors: Age of Calamity Symphonic Suite” transforms the captivating soundtrack of the video game into an epic orchestral journey that mirrors the emotional depth and dynamic action of the story. Each piece within the suite not only contributes to the overall narrative arc but also stands out with its unique musical character, portraying various facets of the game’s rich world.

An Epic Prelude: Main Theme

The suite begins with the “Main Theme,” a powerful orchestral rendition that sets the tone for the adventure ahead. It encapsulates the epic scope of the game, weaving anticipation and heroism into a musical introduction that promises an unforgettable journey.

The Battlefield Comes to Life

  • Battle of Hyrule Field: A dynamic portrayal of open warfare, where the excitement and chaos of battle are conveyed through vigorous strings and bold brass.
  • Intense Battle Against The Talus: This piece highlights the daunting challenge of facing a Talus, using percussion and lower brass to evoke the weight and gravity of the encounter.
  • Guardian Menace: A portrayal of urgency and danger, the menacing approach of the Guardians is mirrored by escalating tension in the music.
  • Battle of Liberation: Culminating in a surge of hope and determination, this piece underscores the climactic push against overwhelming odds, driven by triumphant melodies.

Interludes of Peace and Reflection

  • Whimsical: Offers a light-hearted, playful breather, utilizing woodwinds and light percussion to paint moments of joy and whimsy amidst turmoil.
  • A Quiet Moment: A serene, beautiful contrast to the suite’s more intense moments, emphasizing the underlying beauty of Hyrule with gentle strings and harp.

Champions’ Valor

  • The Champion Mipha to The Champion Urbosa: Each Champion’s theme is a musical narrative that reflects their spirit and story. Mipha’s theme flows smoothly, suggesting her kindness and connection to water, while Daruk’s theme is robust and steadfast. Revali’s theme soars with a sense of pride and agility, and Urbosa’s captures her fierce, protective nature with bold, assertive rhythms.
  • Divine Beasts Loom: Each Divine Beast theme (“Vah Ruta,” “Vah Rudania,” “Vah Naboris,” “Vah Medoh”) is distinct, capturing the majesty and awe-inspiring presence of these mechanical behemoths, with motifs that echo the regions and characteristics they represent.

Dark Forces at Play

  • Astor, Prophet of Doom & Astor’s Theme: These pieces introduce a foreboding atmosphere, with darker tones and unsettling harmonies that hint at the malevolent force driving the chaos.
  • The Dark Truth: Reveals the underlying menace facing Hyrule, with music that builds a sense of impending doom and the weight of hidden secrets.

Journey’s End and Beyond

  • Searching the Lost Woods: An auditory exploration that encapsulates the mystery and enchantment of the Lost Woods, blending curiosity and caution.
  • Growing Sorrow: Reflects the emotional toll of the journey, with a poignant melody that speaks to the heartache and sacrifices made along the way.
  • The Knight Who Seals the Darkness: Epitomizes the hero’s resolve and courage, a thematic crescendo that encapsulates the essence of bravery required to confront Calamity Ganon.
  • Decisive Fight Against Calamity Ganon: The ultimate confrontation, musically intense and complex, it embodies the climactic battle’s desperation and hope.

A New Dawn

Closing the suite, this version of the Main Theme reflects on the journey undergone, offering a sense of resolution and the dawn of a new era for Hyrule, with subtle variations that suggest a future rebuilt on the foundations of the past.

Download PDF: Patreon

Download XML editable file: Patreon

Facebook Comments
Obtain XML editable files and more on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!